Why I write…

I write to tell my story

I write because I can

I write to tell the world, the mystery behind this woman

I write as my expression

I write because I’m gifted

I write because I’m free to

I write to unleash my imagination

I write to the wold, the story of me

I write the stories we struggle to tell

I write to open the minds of others

I write to unleash my creative goddess

I write to tell the stories the stories that silence the world

I write to influence generations

I write because I’m a voice

I write because my pen is mightier than my sword

I write because I can’t be silenced

I write to tell my story

 

 

Our final monthly project was to write a poem. I struggled with what to write but then I decided, what better topic than to tell my readers why exactly I write. Luckily, We had to write about this at the beginning of the semester. I decided to change some things up because my identity as a writer has definitely changed since February when I started this class. Initially I would always write just to feel better. This past few months my agenda for writing has changed greatly. I have learned that I can write for many different reasons. Through my course of this semester, I have learned that writing serves many different reasons. I have learned to write to tell stories, to teach lessons, to implore people, to take a stand and many more reasons. I learned that my writing is my weapon. It is my voice and I have also learned in this class that if I wanna write anything significant and make a change in the world, all I have to do is write. Be it poetry, prose or a script. I have also learned that there are no limits to my creativity. You can write in whatever style you want. I can write about whatever I want to as well. For the first time I wrote stuff about my culture through my African Goddess series. Not only did that help me get grounded with my culture, it helped me explore mixing my native language with my writing and I discovered it was something I wanna be doing more often. I decided to let my readers know why I write because I write for so many different reasons.

One thought on “Why I write…

  1. Dear Tolu,

    Wow, good job! This was very interesting and it was cool finding out why you write. I write for some of the same reasons as well, like for creativity like you mentioned.

    If I had to pick an area for improvement, I would just say to watch out for small grammar mistakes. Besides that, great piece. Keep up the good work!

    Sincerely,
    Akaash

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *