Aje

I am Aje

I am the goddess of wealth

My wealth is worth more than money

My wealth is in my value

My wealth is in my heart

My wealth is in my skin

I radiate my wealth

Mo re wa

My wealth is like a waterfall

It has no beginning and it has no ending

My wealth is unmatched

From Aba to Mushin, it has no contenders

My wealth flows through my veins

It’s the aura I carry

It’s the essence of my being

My wealth is deeper than what meets your eye

My wealth is vast

Ko ni ipari

My wealth is sweeter than honey

My wealth is golden

Just like my skin

My wealth may be compared to the Burj Khalifa

Only because it’s the tallest thing on earth

My wealth is powerful

It is not ordinary.

Just like Olumo Rock, my wealth is permanent.

I am Aje

I am the goddess of wealth

 

I wrote my February Free Choice about the goddess of love and I took a whole new liking to goddesses that I decided to make an African goddess series. I chose to write about Aje, the Yoruba goddess of wealth because money is something everyone wants but not everyone has. So reading about her an how much money and wealth she possessed, I was compelled to write a poem from her point of view. I wanted to tell her story about her wealth. I also wanted to broaden the horizon and try something new such as writing  series of poems. I usually write single poems, but I thought it would be nice to have a collection of similar poems. Also, my blog is titled The Melanin Mind, and what better way to express what goes on the mind of melanin than to explain the mind of a goddess. Another reason I chose this particular goddess is because I always wanted to explore the mind of a wealthy person, and my grandma always talked about her while I was growing up. I hope you enjoy it.

 

 

Mo re wa – Yoruba statement directly translating to “I am beautiful”

Aba – Town located in Eastern Nigeria

Mushin – Town located in Western Nigeria

Ko ni ipari – Yoruba statement directly translates to “It has no end”

2 thoughts on “Aje

  1. Dear Tolu,
    I really liked your idea of writing a series of poems about Africa goddesses because I feel like it will teach people more about the African culture and broaden their knowledge of the topic.

    I feel like you could work more on your grammer because their were barely any commas or stops in this poem I feel like that this will add a greater depth to your writing in the future.

    I look forward to seeing what you do with this series.

    Sincerely,
    Aliza

    1. Dear Aliza,
      I’m glad you enjoyed my writing. It is definitely my intention to educate people through my writing. Thank you very much for the suggestion. I would look into it. Thank you once more.
      Love,
      Tolu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *